Sunshine Starters Levels 1-52018-09-19T08:58:43+00:00

Sunshine Starters, Levels 1-5

Sunshine Starters is a new literacy program that focuses on the five essential skill areas that all children need in order to develop into successful readers. Evidence-based findings have identified these key areas as:

Phonemic Awareness

– the ability to hear, identify and manipulate individual sounds (phonemes) in spoken words.


– understanding the relationship between written letters (graphemes) and sounds.


– developing an ever-increasing base of known words and their meaning.


– ability to understand and make meaning from text.


– ability to read at pace with accuracy and expression.

Sunshine Starters feature:

  • Engaging fiction and non-fiction texts
  • High-frequency words presented as flash cards on the inside cover of each book
  • Skills teaching focus on the inside back cover of all titles

Please Note:
To download individual Teachers Notes click on a book and find the link or download all levels 1-5 below. 


Level 1

  • No!

  • I Write

  • I Look

  • Flowers

  • Bedtime


Level 2

  • Mud

  • I Go Up


Level 3

Level 4

  • My Turn


Level 5

  • My Pet